Minutes of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioner Regular Meeting held on August 20, 2024

- 1. In attendance were Commissioners Schwartz, Yarzak, Petersen, Stewart, McIlwain, Interim Director Cubberley, Secretary Witt, Merry Blake and Clyde Cole. Dan Rowe, Lucas Group: Zoom.
- 2. President Stewart called the meeting to order at 6:50 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart, Aye: McIlwain.
- 3. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner Schwartz too approve the meeting agenda for the August 20, 2024, Regular Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart.
- 4. Clyde Cole spoke regarding signage for the Deacon Davis Basketball facility.
- 5. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the minutes from the July 16, 2024, Regular Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart.
- 6. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve the bills for August 2024 totaling \$440,208.32, including \$238,149.65 in payroll and \$202,058.67 in vouchers. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye; Yarzak.
- 7. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to receive and place on file the reports. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Stewart.
- 8. Dan Rowe from The Lucas Group presented via zoom the audit and draft financial reports for the 2023-2024 Fiscal Year.
- 9. On a motion by Commissioner Petersen and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve the Cell Phone Stipend Policy as proposed. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Petersen, Aye: Stewart, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz.
- 10. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Petersen to approve proceeding with OSLAD 2025 grant Application with the following: 1. Include 2.5-5 years old playground, 2. Build overlook structure in-house. 3. Bid overlook parking lot as an alternate item, if cost exceeds available funds, drop from project. 4. Adjust size of splash pad to fit remaining funds in \$1.2 million matching grant. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz.

- 11. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner Petersen to appoint Interim Executive Director Cubberley as the Open Meetings Act Officer. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart.
- 12. On a motion by Commissioner McIlwain and second by Commissioner Schwartz to appoint Interim Executive Director Cubberley as the Freedom of Information Act Officer. Roll Call Vote: Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye; Petersen, Aye: Stewart.
- 13. On a motion by Commissioner McIlwain and second by Commissioner Yarzak to move into closed session at 7:31 P.M. for the purpose of the board discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees pursuant to 5 ILCS 120 Section 2(c)(1) of the Illinois Open Meeting Act. Roll Call Vote: Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart.
- 14. On a motion by Commissioner Petersen and second by Commissioner Yarzak to adjourn the closed session and reconvene into regular session at 7:40 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Petersen, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart.
- 15. The board met in closed session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees pursuant to 5 ILCS 120 Section 2(c)(1) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act. No Action was taken.
- 16. On a motion by Commissioner McIlwain and second by Commissioner Petersen to adjourn the regular meeting at 7:42 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart.

Dana Stewart, President

Vickie Witt, Secretary