Minutes of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners Regular meeting held on May 21, 2024

- 1. In attendance were Commissioners Schwartz, Petersen, Stewart, Yarzak, McIlwain, Executive Director Schneider, Secretary Witt, Superintendent Cubberley, Manager Hartman, Andy Reeter Fehr Graham, Earl Herman, Brad Pfile and Merry Blake.
- 2. The meeting was called to order by President Schwartz at 6:30 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Petersen, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: McIlwain.
- 3. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the meeting agenda for the May 21, 2024, Regular Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz.
- 4. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the meeting minutes from the April 16, 2024 Regular Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz.
- 5. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner Petersen to approve the bills for May 2024 totaling \$492,531.16 including \$149,269.53 in payroll and \$343,261.63 in vouchers. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz.
- 6. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Petersen to receive and place on file the reports. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz.
- 7. Presentation of the structural, electrical, and environmental assessment of the Koening Amphitheater performed by Fehr Graham. Discussion followed.
- 8. Executive Director presented information on the submission of an application for the 2025 Open Space Land Acquisition & Development grant program to fund enhancements to Krape Park. Discussion followed.
- 9. Rotation of officers followed. Dana Stewart took over as President.
- 10. On a motion by Commissioner McIlwain and second by Commissioner Petersen to approve Ordinance 24-5-21 authorizing the sale or conveyance of certain personal property. Roll Call Vote: Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart.
- 11. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner McIlwain to approve the purchase of a used Tucker-Terra 2000 Sno-Cat from Track Inc. in the amount of \$124,576. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Stewart.

- 12. On a motion by Commissioner McIlwain and second by Commissioner Petersen to approve the purchase of ten (10) new Yamaha golf cars, including the trade in of (10) 2013 Club Car golf cars, from Harris Golf Cars in the amount of \$46,510. Roll Call Vote: Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart.
- 13. On a motion by Commissioner McIlwain and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve the 2024-25 health insurance group plan renewal for eligible full-time employees as proposed. Roll Call Vote: Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz.
- 14. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner Stewart to recess the meeting because of no electrical power at 7:37 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain.
- 15. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to resume the regular meeting, electrical power came back on, at 7:40 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart.
- 16. On a motion by Commissioner McIlwain and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the purchase of a Ford F550 Dump truck from Morrow Brothers Ford through the State Procurement contract in the amount of \$74,133. Roll Call Vote: Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Stewart.
- 17. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to go into closed session at 7:44 P.M. for the purpose of the Board discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees pursuant to 5 ILCS 120 Section 2(c)(1) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act. Roll Call Vote: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart.
- 18. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner McIlwain to adjourn the closed meeting at 8:15 P. M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Petersen, Aye: Stewart.
- 19. The board met in closed session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees pursuant to 5 ILCS 120 Section 2 (c)(1) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act.
- 20. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Petersen to adjourn the regular meeting at 8:17 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Petersen, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart.

Dana Stewart, President

Vickie Witt, Secretary