Minutes of the Freeport Park District

Board of Commissioner Special Meeting Held on June 4, 2024

- 1. In attendance were Commissioner Schwartz, McIlwain, Petersen, Yarzak, Executive Director Schneider, Secretary Witt, Superintendent Cubberley. Absent: Commissioner Stewart.
- 2. The meeting was called to order by Vice President Petersen at 6:55 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Petersen, Aye; Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye; McIlwain.
- 3. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the meeting agenda for the June 4, 2024 Special Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye; Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen.
- 4. No public comment was received.
- 5. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the resignation of Ron Schneider, Executive Director, effective June 26, 2024. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen.
- 6. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the proposal submitted by the Illinois Association of Park Districts in the amount of \$7,900 to conduct a search for an Executive Director. Roll Call Vote; Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye; Petersen.
- 7. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to go into closed session at 7:02 P.M. for the purpose of the board discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees pursuant to 5 ILCS 120 Section 2 (c)(1) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act. Roll Call Vote; Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen.
- 8. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to adjourn back to the Special Meeting at 7:22 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Petersen.
- The board met in closed session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees pursuant to 5 ILCS 120 Section 2(c)(1) of the Illinois Open Meetings Act.
- 10. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner McIlwain to approve Bruce Cubberley as interim Director starting immediately and provide a bonus of \$1,500 per month until a new Executive Director is appointed and starts employment. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Petersen.

11. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner McIlwain to adjourn the special meeting at 7:24 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Petersen.

Sally Petersen, Vice President

Vickie Witt, Secretary