Minutes of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting held on

April 18, 2023

- 1. In attendance were Commissioners Collin, Schwartz, Stewart, Yarzak, Executive Director Schneider, Secretary Witt, Superintendent Cubberley, Manager Hartman. Merry Blake. Commissioner McIlwain: Absent.
- 2. The meeting was called to order by President Yarzak at 6:30 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Collin.
- 3. On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the meeting agenda for the April 18, 2023, Regular Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak.
- 4. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the minutes from the April 4, 2023, Regular Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 5. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Collin to approve the bills for April 2023 totaling \$494,510.94 including \$92,150.02 in payroll and \$402,360.92 in vouchers. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Collin, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak.
- 6. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Collin to receive and place on file the reports. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak.
- 7. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve an application to the Illinois Department of Natural Resources Bicycle Path Grant Program to fund the construction of a bike path in Krape Park in the amount of \$400,000. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 8. On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the payment to the City of Freeport for the local share of the Pecatonica Prairie Trail construction in the amount of \$83,562.90. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak.
- 9. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the purchase of a used John Deere Gator utility vehicle from Prairie State Tractor in the amount of \$15,226.56. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 10. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the quote from Aero Inc. to expand the fiber optic network in Krape Park in the amount of \$16,850. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 11. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve the purchase of ten (10) new Yamaha golf cars, including the trade-in of (10) 2013 Club Car golf cars, from Harris Golf Cars in the amount of \$39,400. Roll Call Vote: Aye Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 12. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve Commissioner Schwartz as President; Commissioner McIlwain as Vice President: and Commissioner Stewart as Treasurer for the 2023-24 term commencing at the May 18, 2023, regular meeting. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.

- 13. On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Stewart to appoint Office Manager Witt as Secretary to the Board. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak.
- 14. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to appoint Executive Director Schneider as the Open Meetings Act Officer and Officer Manager Witt as Alternate. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 15. On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Schwartz to appoint Executive Director Scheider as Freedom of Information Act Officer and Officer Manager Witt as Alternate: Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak.
- 16. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to appoint Fishburn Whiton Thruman as legal counsel. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 17. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to adjourn the meeting at 6:52 p.m. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.

George Yarzak, President Vickie Witt, Secretary