Minutes of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners Regular meeting held on

April 19, 2022

- 1. In attendance were Commissioner Schwartz, Collin, Yarzak, Stewart, McIlwain, Executive Director Schneider, Secretary Witt, Superintendent Cubberley, Merry Blake, Georgia and Earl Herman, Mark Hazzard, Jeff Lehman and Kelsey Rosenstein.
- 2. The meeting was called to order by President Collin at 6: 30 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye; Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Collin.
- 3. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the agenda. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Collin.
- 4. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the meeting minutes from the April 5, 2022, Regular Meeting of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin.
- 5. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the minutes from the April 5, 2022, Closed session and release them from confidential status. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Collin.
- 6. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve the bills for April 2022 totaling \$607,843.38 including \$87,207.81 in payroll and \$520, 635.57 in vouchers. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Collin.
- 7. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to receive and place on file the reports. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Collin.
- 8. Review and discussion of a request from Cedarville Snow Traverlers to sponsor a 2022 Illinois Snowmobile Grant through the Illinois Department of Natural Resource. Mark Hazzard presented the request.
- 9. Review and discussion of a request from the Freeport Concert Band. Jeff Lehman and Kelsey Rosenstein requested an increase in funding from the Park District.
- 10. Executive Director Schneider presented for review and discussion a draft policies and procedures manual.
- 11. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to rescind the decision made on February 15, 2022, to award Aramark Corporation a 3-year agreement for uniform services. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Collin.
- 12. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the 3-year agreement with Cintas Corporation to provide uniform services to eligible full-time park maintenance employees at the unit prices proposed. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Collin.
- 13. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the proposal from Fehr Graham in the amount of \$8,500 for engineering services to develop a site plan for Winter Park playground. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin.

- 14. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the proposal submitted by Play Illinois, LLC in the amount of \$24,998 for playground equipment to be installed at Winter Park. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Collin.
- 15. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the proposal from Fehr Graham in the amount of \$7,300 to develop a conceptual plan for the south entrance of Krape Park. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Yarzak, Aye; Collin.
- 16. On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve Commissioner Yarzak as President, Commissioner Schwartz as Vice President: and Commissioner Stewart as Treasurer for the 2022-2023 term commencing at the May 17, 2022, Regular Meeting. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak.
- 17. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to appoint Office Manager Witt as Secretary to the Board. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Collin.
- 18. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner McIlwain to appoint Executive Director Schneider as the Open Meetings Act Officer and Officer Manager Witt as the Alternate. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Collin.
- 19. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Schwartz to appoint Executive Director Schneider as the Freedom of Information Act Officer and Office Manager Witt as the Alternate. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Collin.
- 20. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to appoint Fishburn Whiton Thruman as legal counsel. Roll Call Vote: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Collin.
- 21. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to adjourn the regular meeting at 7:48 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: McIlwain, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin.

Ken Collin, President

Vickie Witt, Secretary