Minutes of the Freeport Park District Board of Commissioners Regular meeting held

On April 20, 2021

- 1. In attendance were Commissioners Yarzak, Stewart, Collin, Jungen and Schwartz, Executive Director Schneider, Secretary Witt, Superintendent Jackson, Manager Hartman, Merry Blake and Joe Kanosky, Remotely: Jennifer Kanosky and Kathy Wilken and Steve Howlett of PG Design + Build.
- 2. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 P.M. by President Stewart. Due to COVID-19 and the Governors Disaster Proclamation remote attendance is allowed. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Yarzak.
- 3. Joe Kanosky thanked Tom Jungen for his service.
- 4. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the minutes of the 2021-2022 Budget and Appropriation Public Hearing held on April 6, 2021. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Collin, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Stewart.
- 5. On a motion by Commissioner Jungen and second by Commissioner Schwartz to approve the minutes of the Regular meeting held on April 6, 2021. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Jungen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart.
- 6. On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the bills for April 2021 totaling \$471,276.36 including \$81,090.18 in payroll and \$390,186.18 in vouchers. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Jungen, Aye; Stewart.
- 7. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Jungen to receive and place on file the staff reports. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Collin, Aye: Stewart.
- 8. Steve Howlett from PG Design + Build presented conceptual plans, including cost estimates for the renovation of the Park Hills Clubhouse.
- 9. Executive Director Schneider presented meeting agenda format.
- 10. On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve Ordinance #21-4-20: Ordinance authorizing the issuance of General Obligation Park Bonds (Alternate Revenue Source) of the District in an aggregate principal amount not to exceed \$1,100,000 pursuant to the Local Government Debt Reform Act of the State of Illinois, as amended, for the payment of land condemned or purchased for parks, for the building, maintaining, improving and protecting of the same and the existing land and facilities of the District. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Schwartz.
- 11. On a motion by Commissioner Yarzak and second by Commissioner Jungen to approve a 4% salary increase pool for eligible full-time employees with a total amount not to exceed the budgeted amount of \$34,779. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Collin, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart.
- On a motion by Commissioner Collin and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the proposal from Christopher Fye + Associates, PC to provide architectural services for a family bathroom unit in the amount of \$4,500. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart.

- 13. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Stewart to approve the agreement with ShotSpotter, Inc, to place an alarm sensor on Park property located at 1440 S Carroll Ave. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak.
- 14. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Collin to approve the proposal from Fehr Graham to provide engineer design services for pickleball/tennis courts in the amount of \$49,500. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Stewart.
- 15. On a motion by Commissioner Stewart and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve the designation of the structures located at 1010 W Empire St, as surplus property. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Jungen.
- 16. On a motion by Commissioner Schwartz and second by Commissioner Yarzak to approve Commissioner Collin as President and Commissioner Yarzak as Vice President for the 2021-2022 term commencing at the May 18, 2021 regular meeting. Roll Call Vote: Aye; Schwartz, Aye; Collin, Aye: Jungen, Aye: Stewart, Aye: Yarzak.
- 17. On a motion by Commissioner Jungen and second by Commissioner Schwartz to adjourn the meeting at 7:51 P.M. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Jungen, Aye: Schwartz, Aye: Collin, Aye: Yarzak, Aye: Stewart.

Dana Stewart, President

Approved

Vickie Witt, Secretary